Read Foul Play by Steffie Hall Janet Evanovich Online

foul-play

When Amy Klasse loses her TV job to a dancing chicken, handsome veterinarian Jake Elliott rescues her with an offer to be his receptionist. Jake just can't resist a damsel in distress, and Amy certainly doesn't mind Jake's charming sincerity. Then suddenly the job-stealing chicken disappears and Amy is suspected of foul play. Amy and Jake search for clues to prove her i When Amy Klasse loses her TV job to a dancing chicken, handsome veterinarian Jake Elliott rescues her with an offer to be his receptionist. Jake just can't resist a damsel in distress, and Amy certainly doesn't mind Jake's charming sincerity. Then suddenly the job-stealing chicken disappears and Amy is suspected of foul play. Amy and Jake search for clues to prove her innocence. But will Jake be able to prove to Amy that love, too, is a mystery worth solving? ...

Title : Foul Play
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780061690389
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 228 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Foul Play Reviews

  • Kimberly
    2018-10-27 18:18

    I read this one in one night. Cute story, but there isn't much to it. A little romance, a little humor, and a little adventure makes for a good night's entertainment.

  • Julie (jjmachshev)
    2018-10-23 20:32

    I really enjoyed reading "Foul Play" by Janet Evanovich. This is one of her very early books written for a serial romance publisher in the late 80s/early 90s, and it's very well done for what it is. Evanovich describes these early books as "red-hot screwball comedies" and while I do agree with the screwball comedy, "Foul Play" was very much G-rated. So if you enjoy a very light romance with side-splitting laughter, this is definitely a book for you.

  • Jennifer
    2018-11-03 21:29

    Light, fluffy and fun. It was fun to read this in part because it is early Evanovich - so it was rougher than her Plum books are - but her humor and motifs are still there. I did have a hard time with some of the stuff in this book. The leading man is Jacob Elliott. He is in the parking lot at the grocery store waiting patiently for Mrs. Moyer and her dog to back out of a parking spot so he can pull in. (He knows it's Mrs. Moyer because he is the town Vet - and he recognizes her dog.) But! Before he can pull into her vacated parking spot in pulls Amy Klasse in her hot little red sports car. She emerges from the car - all long legs and flowing pink skirt - Blond hair and blue eyes. She slams her door shut and her skirt gets caught. She yanks the skirt out of the door and rips a chunk out of it and stomps into the grocery store. Our leading man - watching all this in fascinated silence - declares his Love for her right then and there. Yeah. That was the first two pages. And as much as I love Janet Evanovich - I kind of groaned a little at that. The plot was typically absurd. Amy is a clown for a local television station - and she gets fired because the new station manager wants a dancing chicken (and the chickens sexy handler) to take her place. The chicken ends up chicken-napped and of course Amy and Jacob are blamed. The story is pretty rough and it ends a little too abruptly for my taste - but I still enjoyed reading it. The writing was good even if the plot was a little rough.

  • Trisia
    2018-10-15 22:34

    Really a half star would be more suited. The narrator on audio was horrible. Voice like Maude on Golden Girls. Cheesy doesn't even come close to an accurate description...Story was just ridiculous. Why someone as talented as Ms. Evanovich would attach her name to this book is beyond me. I would have quit listening, but needed noise in the car.

  • Cathy
    2018-11-13 21:13

    Just a light, silly romance, but that's all it was meant to be. If you want a few chuckles, go for it.

  • Krissy
    2018-10-20 00:30

    Cheesy af

  • Donna Craig
    2018-10-17 21:37

    This is a quick, easy read in which I did cheer for the main characters. However, it was dorky and dumb with an annoying ending. So two stars.

  • Melissa
    2018-11-08 00:26

    As I have previously mentioned, I love Janet Evanovich. But her early works are really fluffy and just okay. The premise of the book is a young woman named Amy gets fired from her job as Lulu the Clown because the new program director replaces her with a rooster. In her dismay, she catches the eye of a hunky veterinarian and they fall in love within a matter of minutes. Did I mention that she is a 26-year-old virgin? The job-stealing rooster winds up at veterinarian-man's place of work and soon goes missing. Hijinks ensue. It is an obvious early Stephanie Plum, but I am so glad the SP evolved the way that it did. I will still read all JE's books because I love her, but these books are mindless quick reads.

  • Cyndi
    2018-10-25 22:31

    This book was so cute! Funny romance.

  • Samantha
    2018-10-21 17:25

    Foul Play is admittedly a quick read, but it does have a playful storyline and clear evidence of being the early work of Janet Evanovich. I could easily see Amy as being related to Stephanie. A seeming trademark of Evanovich books is that the female protagonist usually starts life over somehow, and Amy's situation in the beginning of the story is no exception. It is a bit alluring to watch her find herself while she also figures out her job predicament. Nice rainy day entertainment.

  • Hannah
    2018-10-22 17:29

    Actually 3.5 stars.This is a wacky, irreverent, and often laugh-out-loud funny book. It's a quick read, perfect for when you need a mood-booster. The romance between Jake and Amy is sweet, and the "mystery" plot, if it can even be called that, is highly entertaining. Very enjoyable, as long as you don't take it too seriously.

  • Aleshia
    2018-11-11 17:40

    Didnt love it didn't hate it

  • Joy
    2018-11-01 17:28

    This is a funny, quick typlical Evanovich read. I enjoyed it, had some laughs, but not much else was gleaned from this one. But if you enjoy Janet Evanovich, I'm sure you will enjoy this one!

  • Tonya Lucas
    2018-10-13 20:20

    A fun and witty light hearted romantic mystery! When life is so full of tension and turmoil, this is the kind of book to escape into. Enjoy!

  • Sarah
    2018-10-20 22:24

    ariel would love this

  • Jan
    2018-10-29 22:40

    Amy Klasse just lost her job as the clown host of a children’s program—to a chicken! She is livid. She didn’t even get a last program to say farewell to her fans. Veterinarian Jacob Elliott sees her in all her fury in the parking lot of the local market, is fascinated, and follows her into the store. From dropped fruit to shattered eggs, Amy’s tour through the store is a disaster culminating in her embarrassment at the checkout when she realizes she doesn’t have her handbag which is locked, along with her keys, in her car.Jacob introduces himself (with supporting intros from the market clerks) and offers to loan her some money and give her a ride home. He, later that evening, offers her the job of office receptionist. (Does he even need a receptionist?)This is early Evanovich published originally under a pseudonym, Steffie Hall. The writing skills are there as is the humor. There is even a mystery – the unwell replacement chicken is taken to the Jacob’s vet clinic, kept for observation overnight, and disappears. Is Amy implicated? What happened to Red? Is it only circumstantial that she brought chicken soup to work? How can Jacob help protect her? It’s a quick read, larger print and not long, but a delight nonetheless. HEA except for the chicken. Recommended.Readalikes:Susan Wiggs – Snowfall at Willow Lake; Kristin Higgins – All I Ever Wanted; Jayne Ann Krentz romances; Linda Lael Miller – Christmas in Mustang Creek; Robyn Carr – Promise Canyon; Spencer Quinn – To Fetch a Thief; Claudia Bishop – The Case of the Tough-Talking Turkey.Pace: FastCharacters: Likeable; quirky Story: Character-driven; banter-filledLanguage: EngagingTone: Amusing; heartwarming; Frame: Virginia; contemporary

  • Alvera
    2018-11-06 20:38

    Some annoyingly predictable romance novel plot devices that could even be a bit disturbing if I think too hard about the implications, but still... Wacky. Fun. And refreshing in that most of the sexiness was more suggestion than play by play. "Romance novels are birthday cake and life is often peanut butter and jelly. I think everyone should have lots of delicious romance novels lying around for those times when the peanut butter of life gets stuck to the roof of your mouth." -- Janet Evanovoch, 1988

  • Kristen Lewendon
    2018-11-12 18:12

    When the author describes these as "screwball comedies" she's not kidding. It's an adventure in Murphy's Law, plagued by 'what's the worst that can happen?'. I'm not totally sure I'm sold on the instant soulmate connection between Jake and Amy, but they make for an interesting pairing. They're also highly unlikely sleuths, bumbling through trying to find out what happened to the missing bird. There's really nothing deep, or emotional, or dramatic in here. The story's light and airy, like marshmallow fluff: no real nutritional value but fun nonetheless.

  • Micheala
    2018-11-04 16:18

    It should have been a funny fluffy read, however I found that all the troupes ((view spoiler)[insta love, getting engaged after only 5 days, complete virgin/goody-two shoes girl, etc. (hide spoiler)]) combined with some problematic relationship themes being romanticized lowered my enjoyment. With this author I think I'll stick to the Stephanie Plum series, at least then the main female character has enough sass to be likeable and not totally forgettable/slightly annoying like Amy.

  • Mollie
    2018-10-19 19:40

    This is my first Janet Evanovich and I think it might be my last. Flat characters, helpless virgin, madly in love and engage within 5 whole days and don't forget the man sweeping in and rescuing her with no thought or discussion to what she wanted. Maybe I'm missing something? Was this tongue in cheek? I'll let you know after I get the bile out of my mouth.

  • Deborah Smith
    2018-10-31 23:39

    I love Janet Evanovich, but this book wasn't as good as numbered series. It started off really well, but declined as it went. The story seemed a little on the juvenile side and the ending left a lot to be desired.

  • Helen
    2018-11-10 17:28

    A funny, sometimes almost absurd screwball comedy reminiscent of Grant and Hepburn's Bringing Up Baby film. Once the mystery was solved, though, the plot fell off and Amy didn't do enough to win her own happy ending.

  • Nancy Shaffer
    2018-10-21 23:32

    Delightful little romantic paperback quick read. Originally published as A Second Chance At Love in 1989, under name above (Steffie Hall). This rewrite shows author as Janet Evanovich. A particularly fun "find" at a general store on Kodiak Island, Alaska.

  • Kari
    2018-11-01 19:14

    Mildly entertaining, if only to make fun of it. No character development, ridiculous plotline, and characters who don't function or think like normal healthy average adults.It comes off as someone trying to write a sitcom into a novel, but it fails epicly.Brainless junk.

  • Tracy
    2018-10-23 00:34

    Short and cheesy and silly.

  • Bobbi
    2018-10-17 00:25

    A pretty fun book although I thought the mystery about the chicken was a bit unnecessary but I enjoyed the story none the less.

  • Tori Pauling
    2018-10-24 21:14

    I read an updated version by Janet Evanovich, and it was meh. Short and easy read, but definitely skipped some parts.

  • Sierra
    2018-11-12 16:33

    2.5

  • Amy Moniz
    2018-11-02 22:29

    Love the characters, the story, but wish there was a sequel about life afterwards...

  • Suzanne
    2018-10-21 20:13

    Cute story. Liked how it flipped between man/woman point of view.Several editing errors.