Read Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag, Volume 1 by Louisa May Alcott Online

aunt-jo-s-scrap-bag-volume-1

This is an EXACT reproduction of a book published before 1923. This IS NOT an OCR'd book with strange characters, introduced typographical errors, and jumbled words. This book may have occasional imperfections such as missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. that were either part of the original artifact, or were introduced by the scanning process. We beThis is an EXACT reproduction of a book published before 1923. This IS NOT an OCR'd book with strange characters, introduced typographical errors, and jumbled words. This book may have occasional imperfections such as missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. that were either part of the original artifact, or were introduced by the scanning process. We believe this work is culturally important, and despite the imperfections, have elected to bring it back into print as part of our continuing commitment to the preservation of printed works worldwide. We appreciate your understanding of the imperfections in the preservation process, and hope you enjoy this valuable book....

Title : Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag, Volume 1
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781145622852
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 236 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Aunt Jo's Scrap-Bag, Volume 1 Reviews

  • Sarah
    2018-11-05 15:07

    I really enjoyed this collection. The last story was my favorite.

  • Doreen Petersen
    2018-10-25 20:13

    Really nice collection of short stories.

  • Ellen Hamilton
    2018-10-18 17:12

    My Boys - Story is pleasant and nothing more; title says it allTessa's Surprises - A heart-touching little story; perfect for reading during these holidays!Buzz - Ingenious and the sort of story I would write; Buzz is a (view spoiler)[fly (hide spoiler)]The Children's Joke - My favourite among this bunch; ALL parents should do this at least onceDandelion - Perfect little hopeful story to lift your mood; can't say there wasn't something in my eyeMadam Cluck and Her Family - Most entertaining, especially if you live on a farm. like me.A Curious Call - Very curious story and not very well explained... very curiousTilly's Christmas - The kind of story that squeezes your heart and makes you cry. a little.My Little Gentleman - Same as aboveBack Windows - very humorous and ehmm... relatableLittle Marie of Lehon - Sweet and savouryMy May-day Among Curious Birds and Beasts - made me want to visit a zoo right awayOur Little Newsboy - heart-touching-warmingPatty's Patchwork - What wouldn't I give to have an aunt like Patty's?

  • P.S. Winn
    2018-11-07 14:05

    A mixed up bag of heart warming stories and just a bit of memento's fro Aunt Jo. The author is known for the little women series and this is similar.

  • Staci
    2018-10-20 18:08

    A refreshing classic cleansing mymind and reminding me of the beautifulness in the world

  • Duckpondwithoutducks
    2018-11-09 13:14

    This is as the title says, a scrap-bag, or collection of short stories, including an autobiographical one where Alcott describes the original inspiration for Laurie in Little Women. If you are a fan of Little Women, then this would interest you!

  • Hilary
    2018-10-30 15:08

    A charming mix of LMA's reminiscences over "her boys", some observations and some short stories she penned. If you loved the "Little Women" series or "Rose in Bloom" you may notice some common themes, and will probably enjoy this little book too.

  • marcia
    2018-10-26 13:13

    The stories aren't anything of major substance, but this is just the type of book I'll read to my kids someday. ^_^

  • Tarissa
    2018-11-05 16:10

    For fans of Little Women and Louisa May Alcott, or if you just love short, sweet stories, this is for you. Here's a few descriptions of some of my favorite stories found in Aunt Jo's Scrap Bag.I enjoyed “My May-Day Among Curious Birds and Beasts” in which the narrator sweetly tells of the sights of a visit to the Zoological Gardens in London. It is obviously based on Louisa's own travels. I think it would make for a delightful read-aloud to children, since there are lots of interesting animals that make an appearance in the story.One story that is just so comical, just so demure, and a bit too fun, is “The Children's Joke”. My, my. What a laugh, what a riot. Two children get to play the part of the parents all day long, while the parents must be subjected to play the part of children. Each side learns big truths about the other, and that sometimes life is less stressful when you just do the best you can in the life you're given. I actually was reading this short story collection Aunt Jo's Scrap Bag while I simultaneously was reading a biography on Miss Alcott, entitled Invincible Louisa, and it was perfect timing! I kept seeing so many parallels between Louisa's own life and the stories she was writing. Most of her stories pulled in so many details of what was happening with her and the rest of the Alcott family in real life. It was fantastic to see the similarities!In the story “My Boys” Louisa writes of several boys who left an impressionable mark on her life. In it, we see she is starting to sketch out the character of beloved Laurie, though in this early story he is named Laddie. (I actually learned more of the history behind Laurie's character in Invincible Louisa, wherein the reader gets to meet the actual boy who both Laddie and Laurie are based on. (Pretty cool stuff can be found in history and literature, eh?)Although not exactly a favorite, “Madam Cluck and Her Family” stands out to me, as it was a strange and grave sort of story. It's starts with this delightfully misleading line: “There never was a prouder mamma than Madam Cluck when she led forth her family of eight downy little chicks.” The story progresses as each of the chicks dies off in some unfortunate way. A comically grim and rather surprising plot choice, coming from Miss Alcott.Overall, a delightful batch of stories that I greatly enjoyed!Book #1 finished for the Louisa May Alcott reading challenge, found at inthebookcase.blogspot.com.

  • Caleb
    2018-10-17 16:29

    This is a collection of several short stories; some of them were a bit odd to read. However, I did have a couple favorites: there was "The Children's Joke" was about a brother and sister who switched roles with their parents for a day. This was a hilarious read.Another of my favorites was "Tessa's Surprises". It was a story about a little girl who wanted to be able to make a few coins and buy her younger siblings Christmas presents. I thought that this was a good holiday story.

  • Caroline Bennett
    2018-10-22 19:19

    Mixture of stories - some bittersweet, some a little twee, some funny. Some are fiction, some are observational autobiographical pieces. If like me you want to read everything LMA wrote in order to find out more about her, this will definitely have something of interest for you.

  • Jennifer Ricks
    2018-10-20 13:11

    Eh--2.9? The stories are nice, but not really profound. There's nothing wrong with them, but there's not really anything to grip you either. They are very, very moralistic. By the end I did feel like she was waxing quite Dickens-esque (which is a compliment, in my opinion) in depicting the sad plights of poverty-stricken children. This is both pretty neat and very sobering. I can't believe that finding a newspaper boy freezing on a doorstep was normal at the time.

  • Joanne
    2018-10-24 20:16

    66 stories not 36!!! wow on and on and on, finally fliped through rest of book, stories are all with a moral or example of how a child should be or not be, probably great in the time it was written, but guess i am not into retro books like this if i was on a desert island probably would have read it all word for word!!! stuck with it in case i was ever on a game show !!!!!

  • Terri
    2018-11-05 19:33

    A collection of short stories. Some appear to be completely fictional while others appear to be factual. My favorite was the one where she described all her favorite boys and especially gave insight into how she created the character Laurie.

  • Elise
    2018-10-25 13:21

    It was okay. Some of the stories were really sweet, and it was easy to read. But they kind of got repetitive towards the end--all about poverty and kindness and so on. Good message, but not very exciting after a while.

  • Kathi Olsen
    2018-11-11 20:26

    A collection of short stories supposedly written by Jo March (Little Women) while she lived in the city.

  • Jane
    2018-11-09 13:24

    It was a sweet collection of stories meant to be told to children. Not a whole lot of substance, but an enjoyable way to spend some time.

  • Dwheeler11
    2018-10-24 19:26

    Dated but happy little stories, including one that appears to be the inspiration for the characters of Laurie and Jo in Little Women (Cupid and Chow-Chow).

  • Kori
    2018-11-01 20:09

    A collection of short stories by Louisa May Alcott. My favorite was Patty's Patchwork.

  • Nancye
    2018-10-21 16:04

    I love anything by Louisa May Alcott. And this book of short stories does not disappoint.

  • Helena
    2018-10-26 13:30

    Got bogged down and couldn't make myself finish it. May take it up again someday, who knows.

  • Kathy Nealen
    2018-10-26 17:15

    A set of short stories. Pleasant and good-hearted and a little preachy

  • Sevan
    2018-10-19 18:13

    2.5 stars.